Thirty-two Major College Coaches Began at the Divisional Level

By Tex Noel

Bobby Bowden. John Heisman. Woody Hayes. Lou Holtz. Amos Alonzo Stagg. Jim Tressel—is among 32 of the winningest major college head coaches—that began a career at a divisional college football team.

Coaches with at least 150 all-time career victories were eligible to be included in this listing—that includes a pair of coaches with over 300 all-time victories.

Bowden's teams won a total of 377 on-field records during his outstanding career; of this total 31were at Samford (now Howard AL); while Stagg also won 314 during his career on the sidelines, including 70 at Springfield and College of the Pacific.

.

Heading into the 2010 season—for mentors that are included in this analysis—only Ohio State's Tressel has begun his career at a division-level school and later coached a national championship at the Bowl Subdivision level.

An unusual twist with this next coach; as each of the mentors below changed schools before moving-up to the top level...all but Nevada's Chris Ault.

Ault has led the school as it advanced from level-to-level; beginning with it was a member of NCAA II; then to 1AA and into the highest level.

A pair of small college coaches won two titles—at different schools—before moving up.

The late Jim Wacker, who began his coaching career in 1971 at Texas Lutheran, led the school to back titles (NAIA II) in 1974-75; and years later, after returning back to Texas from a stint at North Dakota State, he led NCAA II Southwest Texas State (now Texas State) to the 1981-82 crowns.

Wacker's 104 small college wins ranks him fifth and final coach with at least 100 wins at a divisional level colleges.

Leading in total victories at the small college level was Joe Glenn who began his career at Doane Neb., and would later coach Northern Colorado and Montana

to a National Championship: winning in 1998-99 and 2000 and 2002, respectively.

Of Glenn's 188 career wins, 158 were on the small college level; which leads the way.

					Career
Division Wins	Coach	School	Seasons	Record	Wins+
158	Joe Glenn	Doane	1976-79	21181	188
		Northern Colorado	1989-99	98350	
		Montana	2000-02	3960	
138	Chris Ault	Nevada	1976-91	138-53-1	206
			1986-		
135	Jim Tressel	Youngstown State	2000	135-57-2	229
117	Ossie Solem	Luther	1920	511	162
		Drake	1921-31	54352	
		Springfield	1946-57	58337	
106	Al Molde	Sioux Falls	1971-72	5121	168
		Minnesota-Morris	1973-79	52211	
		Central Missouri State	1980-82	1794	
		Eastern Illinois	1983-86	32150	
104	Jim Wacker	Texas Lutheran	1971-75	38160	160
		North Dakota State	1976-78	2491	
		Southwest Texas State	1979-82	4280	
76	Eddie Anderson	Loras	1922-24	1662	201
		DePaul	1925-31	21223	
		Holy Cross	1933-37	3964	
75	Carl Snavley	Bucknell	1927-33	42168	180
		Washington-Missouri	1953-58	33190	180
				7015	
70	Morely Jennings	Ouachita Baptist	1912-25	12	153
63	Don Faurot	Northeast Missouri	1926-34	63133	163
60	Warren Woodson	Central Arkansas	1935-39	4083	203
		Hardin-Simmons	1941-42	1642	
		New Mexico State	1958	460	
42	Grant Teaff	McMurry TX	1960-65	23352	170
		Angelo State	1969-71	19110	
41	Lou Little	Georgetown DC	1924-29	41123	151
39	Ara Parseghian	Miami OH	1951-55	3961	170
33	Bennie Owen	Washburn	1900	620	155
		Bethany KS	1901-04	2743	
31	Ray Morrison	Temple	1941-45	20185	155
		Austin	1949-52	11260	
31	Bobby Bowden	Samford	1959-62	3160	373
31	Jim Sweeney	Montana State	1963-67	31200	200

29	John Heisman	Oberlin Akron	1892, 94 1893	1131 1242	185
		Washington &			
		Jefferson	1923	611	
28	Woody Hayes	Denision	1946-48	1960	238
		Miami OH	1950	910	
25	Ben Schhwartzwalder	Muhlenberg	1946-48	2550	178
20	Jess Neely	Rhodes	1924-27	20172	207
17	Matty Bell	Haskell	1920-21	1360	153
		Carroll WI	1922	430	
17	Pappy Waldorf	Oklahoma City	1925-27	17112	174
15	Earle Bruce	Tampa	1972	1020	154
		Northern Iowa	1988	560	
13	Lou Holtz	William & Mary	1969-71	13200	249
12	Dana X. Bible	Carson-Newman	1913-15	1272	198
10	Amos Alonzo Stagg	Springfield	1890-91	10111	314
	Fielding "Hurry-up"				
7	Yost	Ohio Wesleyan	1897	711	196
7	Gil Dobie	North Dakota State	1906-07	700	180
7	Bill Mallory	Miami OH	1982	740	167
7	Francis Schmidt	Idaho	1941-42	7120	158

⁺At least 150 career victories